Maple & Pecan Superfood Porridge

image

I had a really hard workout last night and woke up this morning aching all over and soooo hungry! It took all my will power not to make some pancakes…Thursday might be Friday eve but it’s not the weekend yet Tash 😉

So as a compromise (life is all about compromises right?) I made a huge bowl of superfood porridge and along with fruit I added pecans and drizzled a little bit of maple syrup over it 🙂 Worked a treat! It felt naughty but it wasn’t! Yay! 😀

I bought my organic superfood powders separately from Goji King but you don’t have to. You can buy some mixed powders from places like Holland & Barrett, etc. I would recommend getting some and using them wherever you can for an added vitamin and mineral boost. I will write a separate post about the powders I use and why 🙂

I’ve included the links for the qnola and beetroot sprinkles in the ingredients section but you don’t have to use these, you can substitute or not use them at all. My sister and mum bought me them for my birthday as I love anything that adds a nutritional boost to your meals and I am now hooked and will definitely be buying them again (thanks Mum & Em) 🙂

Ingredients

  • Porridge oats
  • Almond milk
  • Spirulina powder – 0.5 tsp (or just under)
  • Rosehip powder – 0.5 tsp
  • Maca powder – 0.5 tsp
  • Strawberry
  • Kiwi
  • Pecans
  • Beetroot & pistachio qnola (Qnola website link) – can be substituted or missed off 🙂
  • Beetroot and milled seeds sprinkles (Primrose’s kitchen website link) – can be substituted or missed off 🙂
  • Maple syrup – 1 tsp

Make it

  1. Mix the porridge and almond milk together and either heat through on the hob or in the microwave in a microwaveable bowl
  2. Add the spirulina, rosehip and maca powder to the porridge and slowly mix them in
  3. Chop the strawberry and kiwi
  4. Pop on the top of the porridge along with the pecans
  5. Sprinkle the qnola and beetroot sprinkles
  6. Drizzle the maple syrup over the top
  7. Do a little superfood porridge dance and applaud yourself for not having pancakes midweek! 😉

Enjoy your nutritious porridge everyone 🙂

With love,
Tash 💖

Leave a Reply

